2014-08-09 / Top News

Primary Election Results

By Paul Gingras

Primary election results for Mackinac County can be found by clicking on the underlined link. This is the official, canvassed report. While included above, Mackinac Island votes are posted separately here.

Mackinac County voters passed all local propositions in  the Tuesday, August 5, primary election and were in favor of State Proposition 1 to reform the personal property tax, 1,608 to 606 (73%). State-wide, the proposition passed with 69% of the vote.

Mackinac Straits Health System’s health services renewal millage of up to 1.2 mills was approved by a wide margin, 1,546 to 678. The current millage expires at the end of 2014. The new millage will be levied from 2015 through 2019. About half of the funds generated will be directed to Evergreen Living Center, a part of Mackinac Straits Health System. About half will help implement new surgery services.

With all 14 precincts reporting, turnout across Mackinac County, was 2,458 of 9,576 registered voters, or 25.67%.

Mackinac County voters gave Republican incumbent Frank Foster an edge over challenger Lee Chatfield for the 107th Representative race, 967 to 794 (55%), although Mackinac was the only county in which he prevailed. He lost the primary to Mr. Chatfield, who attracted 54% of the Republican vote overall.

For the U.S. Congressional First District, county voters favored Republican incumbent Dan Benishek over Alan Arcand, 1,141 to 499. Mr. Benishek won the district with 70% of the Republican vote.

Democrats in the county gave Jimmy Schmidt 306 votes to 165 for Phil Bellfy in the primary race for 37th State Senator District, while Republicans favored Wayne Schmidt over Greg MacMaster, 915 to 697.  District-wide, Wayne Schmidt and Phil Bellfy won and will face each other in November.

State-wide election results can be found at the Secretary of State website at the following links:

United States Senator 6 Year Term

Terri Land (R) 587,570

Gary Peters (D) 503,580

1st District Representative in Congress 2 Year Term

Alan Arcand (R) 21,462

Dan Benishek (R) 49,435

Jerry Cannon (D) 31,053

37th District State Senator 4 Year Term

Greg MacMaster (R) 15,286

Wayne Schmidt (R) 19,032

Phil Bellfy 4,614

Jimmy Schmidt (D) 4,325

107th District Representative 2 Year Term

Lee Chatfield (R) 6,533

Frank Foster (R) 5,487

Jim Page (D) 2,941

 Proposal 1

Yes 862,953

No 382,361

Return to top

Click here for digital edition
2014-08-09 digital edition